Although my professional path may seem roundabout to many, I see it, looking back, as continually growing and developing on a direct path from a liberal arts degree in biology to an environmental education peace corps service in Mauritania to a year in Benin to a master’s in environmental science at a forestry school, to my recently completed PhD in environmental and civil engineering in Switzerland. Now I am looking at how to come back to some of my holistic questions from before, I really like my life in Switzerland, I would like to move away from West Africa, I find myself working on waterborne diseases, and I feel a bit lost about the best next step. The hurdle immediately before me is publishing my PhD work while securing funding for my postdoc and starting to think about what comes next. It never seems as easy as it should!

